Skip to content

#MCHunter Day 5: World Peace and Sui Generis

29 July 2012

On Friday morning the students’ energy level was high. They could sense that they were close to winning the game and achieving world peace, but they still had a long way to go. They had 6 crises left to solve in addition to needing to out the saboteur and avoid the debt crisis in several nations. Yet, they knew they were close. As the children planned and negotiated, we teachers watched for the game to speed up (Does the deadline propel learning?), for further team development, and for the students’ reflective awareness of what they have learned. John did a skillful job keeping them focused, but most students didn’t require his help. They understood what they needed to do and believed they could do it. They could achieve world peace.

As the game played on, John reminded the students of the obstacles remaining in their way, and during negotiations the students continued overcoming hurdles. They recognized how much they needed one another, and altruism surfaced in all of them. They lay aside their differences. They exposed the saboteur. They were generous to one another. They did what we so often cannot do. They declared peace. Everybody won.

In reflecting on her learning, one student admitted, “I’m smarter than I thought I was.” Another confessed, “I learned that by working together, we can do anything,” while a fellow participant added, “I learned the value of negotiation rather than fighting.” Several kids gained an awareness not only of their own potential for evil (“I can be mean.”) but also their capacity for good. They loved playing the game. When asked what they would want their teachers to know about the experience, one boy responded, “That this (game) is fun and really makes you learn a lot.” Their reflections were moving.

During our afternoon debriefing with John and Jamie, we discussed the learning of the game and identified the following outcomes:

  • “flow”
  • collective success
  • critical and creative thinking skills
  • process and intention focus
  • real world relevance and knowledge
  • resourcefulness
  • engagement
  • confidence

Using some tools and inspiration from John and Jamie, we spent the rest of the afternoon considering the concept of sui generis, a Latin expression meaning “of its own, creator of its own kind,” and working with each other and our curriculums to create our own “games.” Through the reflective process and sharing of the week, we identified the things keeping us from reaching our potential as teachers and collectively attempted to address those problems. Then, we were given the time and tools to begin reinventing how we will take new risks and teach our students. As Jamie explained to me, the week was about renewal, reflection, and risk-taking, and I really appreciated how my colleagues opened their hearts, made themselves vulnerable, and worked together to discover and create unique learning opportunities for our students. As my colleagues shared their ideas, I was inspired by my colleagues creativity in re-imagining their curriculums.

I am immensely grateful to John Hunter and Jamie Baker for facilitating the Master Class and to PDS for allowing my to attend. I am also thankful for my colleagues–my friends–and all they shared this week. I look forward to hearing more about the changes they are bringing to their teaching and to their students.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 30 July 2012 1:42 pm

    Philip, thanks for sharing your experience and learning with us here, in this virtual space. Do you think your cohort will share the games/ideas that you all generated during the sui generic phase? Are there inspired implementers who you think will definitely make certain that they trial and test and prototype their creations?

    • 30 July 2012 4:15 pm

      Hey, Bo, thanks for the comment. I considered sharing all the ideas, but then felt that maybe they aren’t really mine to share. That said, I hope they will share them I am planning to reveal mine as it develops further. I’m just not ready to tip my hat completely yet and I have the sense that others may feel that way, too. However, several developed some pretty cool ideas that I’m sure they will prototype. I’ll try to share things as I hear more about their attempts.

      Several of my colleagues just started using Twitter, too, so they are beginning the journey toward more open sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,110 other followers

